Review: Monty Python Live (mostly): One Down, Five To Go

Last month, I was lucky enough to travel down to London and see my comedy idols  perform live at the O2 arena in their reunion show. Since the shows finished, I’ve read a few harsh critics give their negative take on the Python’s sell-out performances. However, as a true Monty Python fan I can honestly say that they couldn’t have done any better.

My Python interest started at the age of eight when my parents bought me ‘And Now For Something Completely Different’ on video. I remember being immediately fascinated by this silly world of hilarious sketches and wonderfully crafted cartoons. This interest soon grew into an obsession with all things Python. My Christmas and birthday presents for the following year or two included all the Python films, their new autobiography, the Monty Python Sings album and various other Python-related things. Then, it moved onto all the Python’s individual ventures – Fawlty Towers, A Fish Called Wanda and Michael Palin’s travel documentaries. One morning, I remember being told by my Mum to meet her in my the playground as quickly as I could after school was finished. She told me she was taking me somewhere for a surprise. Sadly, the surprise didn’t work out because we couldn’t get there on time but the plan had been to go and meet Michael Palin at a book signing he was doing in town.

Therefore, it’s no surprise that even twelve years after that obsession first started I was ecstatic when I heard the Pythons were releasing tickets for their reunion show. Unsurprisingly, I missed out on the first lot of tickets…which sold out in 45 seconds! However, when the release of new dates was announced I was up ready and waiting in time to bag myself and my Mum tickets. We managed to get tickets for the show on July 15th.

I don’t think the reality of it all and the excitement at the prospect of finally seeing the Pythons perform really hit me until we were travelling to London. When we reached London, we caught the boat with other people attending the show from Westminster to the O2 Arena. Seeing the size of the arena from the boat made me realise just how big a performance it was going to be and how many people would be watching.

Before the show started we bought Python T-Shirts and got overpriced food and drink before finding our seats. I’d bought the cheapest tickets, meaning we were really far away from the main stage but with a central view nonetheless.

Finally, the show started and the overture of classic Monty Python songs played by an orchestra was fantastic. Then, the moment came for the curtains to go up and the Pythons all appeared on stage. The atmosphere in the arena just felt like one of happiness and pure pleasure at seeing the comedy troupe reunited for the first time in years and in front of a home audience.

The sketches started off with a silly Spanish llama sketch which was very silly but very funny. The sketches that followed after were mostly the classic Python sketches interspersed with brilliant Terry Gilliam animation clips, old Python sketch footage and brilliant Python musical numbers performed by an all singing, all dancing chorus. The songs included Sit on My Face, I like Chinese, Every Sperm is Sacred, The Galaxy Song and of course the perfect encore song – Always Look on the Bright Side.

Accountant sketch - Michael Palin & John Cleese

Accountant sketch – Michael Palin & John Cleese

Some of my favourite sketches performed on the night had to be the Four Yorkshiremen, The Judges sketch, Argument Clinic, The Protestant sketch, Lumberjack song, Nudge Nudge and of course the Dead Parrot. The sketches were how I remembered them which is what I wanted to see and the best bit of seeing it all live was sometimes seeing the Pythons crack up themselves. It’s nice to know they still don’t take themselves seriously.

The best lines were delivered to the high standard by which they were written. The musical numbers kept everyone smiling and singing along. There were also constant reminders that Python can still be funny to new audiences and in touch with current times as jibes were made at the Daily Mail, Putin, Brian Cox, Suarez and various other things.

I'm a Lumberjack...

I’m a Lumberjack…

Although, the Python’s called their show ‘One Down, Five To Go’ there certainly wasn’t an absence of appreciation for Graham Chapman’s contribution to their comedy and he featured as background footage on numerous occasions during the performance. The remaining Pythons were all on top form – in particular, Eric Idle and Michael Palin. After watching the BBC’s Imagine…Monty Python programme that showed the Pythons gearing up for their O2 dates, it was clear Eric Idle played the biggest part in organising and managing much of the reunion show. Therefore, he deservedly stood out as one of the best Pythons on stage and was particularly funny when performing his classic songs. Similarly, Michael Palin never fails to bring a smile to my face and had me laughing the whole way through – as did the whole group.

Ministry of Silly Walks

Ministry of Silly Walks

The whole show was a celebration of Monty Python and the comedy legacy it continues to leave behind. This legacy is evident just from the fact that the audience was made of people of all ages and from all different countries. The performance was for fans who know Python and know that they are paying money not to see new material but to marvel at the old classics and be entertained by their favourite comedians.

The Python show has undoubtedly been one of the highlights of my year so far and I’m so pleased I was able to get tickets in the first place. The show has only resurrected my love of all things Monty Python and I’m now currently reading Michael Palin’s diaries – 1969-1979 – The Python Years.

Always look on the bright side of life...

Always look on the bright side of life…

Leave a comment